100 Things About Me as a Reader

100 things about me as a reader?  This kind of list making is just the kind of thing I am drawn to- fun but useful.  After all, isn’t this the way we want our students to know themselves as readers?  Check out this post by Franki Sibberson

I can’t commit to 100 things, but I can start the list.  So, in no particular order, here goes:

1. I read first thing in the morning with a cup of tea and a piece of toast: news, opinion pages and columnists of the New York Times, headlines from Google News and usually a few articles that grab my interest from there, my e-mail, and facebook status updates.

2.  I can become obsessed with books- to the point that I read them when I am parked at a stop light.  Anyone who saw me through this last Hunger Games trillogy obesssion knows that once I get on a tear with a series, I can’t stop thinking about it until I have consumed it all.

3.  I read every night before I go to bed- even if it is for only 5 minutes.

4.  I usually have several reading projects going at once: professional books (one or two at a time), magazines, and fiction are always in the mix.

5.  While I can simultaneously read non fiction texts, I usually read only one fiction book at a time.

6.  I read Oprah magazine cover to cover every month and have for the last 10 years.

7.  In the summer, when I am in the US, I buy People Magazine and read it every week.

8.  I do not have an e-reader.  Yet.

9.  The internet has changed the way I read a lot.  Now when I finish a book, I like to see what other people have said about it or find out more about the author and their process with writing the book.

Nine seems like enough for now.  I’ll add more later.

Leave a Reply

