A Book a Week #39 & #40

#39 and #40

Catching Fire & Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Obsessed.  That’s how I am when I read a series I love.  I actually don’t think these books technically belong to the category of my originally stated goal of reading 52 children’s books this year.  However, they are YA books and I did love them… ignored my family for them, gave us sleep for them, insisted other people read them, and have not stopped recommending them since I finished the series.  In fact, I so wanted my husband to read them that I went out and got another copy of the Hunger Games because I had loaned my original out and wanted him to start reading it RIGHT AWAY.  And even more telling, I want to re-read them all over again.  Now.

While I found these books gripping and thought provoking… I would NOT recommend them to LS students due to the emotional content and graphic nature.  The first book is probably OK for a hearty 5th grader, but the series gets more violent and dark as it carries on.  As the reviewer I linked to in my previous post said:

The Hunger Games is quite possibly the most sadistic set of books ever marketed to children. If violence had a Kama Sutra, it would be The Hunger Games—murder in every position. Murder by children, murder of children, murder of animals, murder by animals, murder with poison, with guns, with knives, with bombs, with nets, with electricity. The flesh of Katniss is mortified in every possible way—roasted, boiled, lashed, cut, scraped, gouged, gnawed.

You may now be wondering why I actually liked the book.  I could go on at length here… but briefly, I liked the author’s writing style, the fact the book was told in the first person and in the present tense, the dystopian futuristic setting, the strong female protagonist, and the character development throughout the series, and the overall theme- or my interpretation of it, anyway. (and if I was writing a reading response letter to you, I would back all that up with evidence!)  And, really, I just love any book that keeps me thinking about it long after I have read the last lines.

I don’t want to give anything away, but if you are interested in reading more about this series and other peoples’ reactions to the series, here are a few links dig into- but beware, there are spoilers everywhere!

Why Can’t Katniss Have an Accent?

Talking ‘Bout Mockingjay

Mockingjay- Hunger Games #3

If you’ve read the books, or even one of them, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

One response to “A Book a Week #39 & #40

  1. Hi Carrie,

    Now, I understand better why my son is glued to these books. Every night it is “just 15 minutes more” which is not his style. I know he thinks they are gory but I will see if he can articulate what has captivated his attention to this extent.
    Catriona

Leave a Reply

